» White Text, Black Background
» Yellow Text, Black Background
» Black Text, White Background
» Default Colors
x Close
  Change Colors      Text Only      Resize Text A A A  
Bressler Vision Science Award
Advancing research with the Bressler Prize

The more we learn about blindness, vision impairment and eye disease, the more we can help people who have, or are at risk for vision loss. Thanks to the generosity of the late Alfred W. Bressler, the Guild supports cutting-edge research into the causes and treatment of vision impairment.

Each year, we award $50,000 to a professional who’s leadership, research, and service have resulted in important advancements in the field of vision science, as determined by a panel of distinguished vision science professionals. We look for cutting-edge, critical research, and also host an annual symposium where top researchers present their findings.

How to apply.
Bressler Symposium Abstracts.


  • 2014: Emily Y. Chew, MD, National Eye Institutes of Health
  • 2013: Simon W. M. John, PhD, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, The Jackson Laboratory, Bar Harbor, Maine for his research into the understanding and treatment of glaucoma
  • 2012: Jean Bennett, MD, PhD, Departments of Ophthalmology, Cell and Developmental Biology, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine.
  • 2011: Constance L. Cepko, PhD, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Departments of Genetics, Neuroscience and Ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School
  • 2010: Martin Friedlander, MD, PhD, Department of Cell Biology, Scripps Research Institute. Department of Ophthalmology Scripps Clinic and Green Hospital, La Jolla, Calif.
  • 2009: Roy W. Beck, MD, PHD, of the Jaeb Center for Health Research and the University of South Florida, Tampa, Fla.
  • 2008: Jonathan C. Horton, MD, PhD, of the Departments of Ophthalmology, Neurology and Physiology at the University of California, San Francisco.
  • 2007: David R. Williams, PhD, of the Center for Visual Science at the University of Rochester.
  • 2006: Lois E. H. Smith, MD, PhD, of Children's Hospital Boston and Harvard Medical School.
  • 2005: Burton J. Kushner, MD, of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Science at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health.
  • 2004: Robert W. Massof, PhD, of the Wilmer Ophthalmological Institute at Johns Hopkins University, and Eliezer Peli, OD, of the Schepens Eye Research Institute at Harvard Medical School.
  • 2003: Richard A. Lewis, MD, of the Cullen Eye Institute at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas.
Share this
Bookmark and Share

Call Now


Bressler prize